Hallmark Channel's Cedar Cove.


Cedar Cove

It was only on the air for three seasons, but Hallmark Channel’s Cedar Cove still has a huge devoted fan base. The series, which starred Andie MacDowell, was based on the best-selling series by Debbie Macomber.

Macomber began writing books on a rented typewriter at her kitchen table while raising four children. She took one of her manuscripts to a writer’s conference, where she allowed it to be critiqued in front of an audience. A rep from Harlequin said it was horrible and that she should throw it out. Instead, she sent it Harlequin’s rival, Silhouette, who published it under the title Heartsong.

In 1998, one of her books was adapted into a movie for television called This Matter of Marriage. Hallmark adapted five of her books into movies: Debbie Macomber’s Mrs. Miracle, Call Me Mrs. Miracle, Trading Christmas, Mr. Miracle, and Dashing Through the Snow.

GAC Family Christmas movie marathon this weekend will feature James Van Der Beek in the Hallmark Channel movie Debbie Macomber's Mrs. Miracle.
(Image: Crown Media)

In 2015, Hallmark released the first season of Cedar Cove, based on Macomber’s series about a small town in Washington.

Macomber has written 15 different series:

The Navy Series
The Manning Sisters Series
The Wyoming Series
Those Manning Men Series
Orchard Valley Trilogy
From This Day Forward
The Angel Series
Mrs. Miracle and Mr. Miracle Series
The Midnight Sons Series
Deliverance Company Series
The Heart of Texas Series
The Dakota Series
Cedar Cove Series
Rose Harbor Series
The Blossom Street Series

Author Debbie Macomber.

She has also written more than 70 standalone titles.

Her website can be found here.

Back To Top