Chesapeake Shores Season 6 has a premiere date. The cast of Hallmark Channel's hit series Chesapeake Shores.

Author Sherryl Woods

The first of the Chesapeake Shores series by best-selling author Sherryl Woods.

Since 2016, Hallmarkies have tuned in to follow the lives of the O’Brien family on Chesapeake Shores. The popular show, starring Dianne Ladd, Treat Williams, and Barbara Niven, is based on the series of books by author Sherryl Woods.

The first in the series, The Inn at Eagle Point (2009), was the basis for the show’s pilot. In the story, successful and driven single mom Abby O’Brien returns to the small town in Maryland where she grew up to help her younger sister with her new business.

She reunites with her brothers, Kevin and Connor, her sisters, Bree and Jess, and her grandmother, the formidable Nell O’Brien. She also runs into Trace, her high school sweetheart, who happens to be just as attractive as ever.

There are 12 books in the Chespeake Shores series, including three titles dedicated to Christmas. (Woot-woot!)

(Image: Instagram/Sherryl Woods)

Woods is active on social media. In a recent Instagram post, she asked fans of the show (also known as “Chessies) the question, “Do you have a favorite Nell’s Nugget?”

A former journalist, Woods first published a book in 1982. Since then she has written more than 100 novels. Another of her series, Sweet Magnolias, has been developed into a show by Netflix starring Chris Klein, Heather Headley, and Jamie Lynn Spears.


Woods has published more than 110 novels, and has numerous series to her name, including the Perfect Destinies; the Calamity Janes; the Devaney Brothers; and Ocean Breeze. All in all, she has published more than 100 novels.

Her website is fun and is updated often:

Back To Top